Follow

Merge Contacts

Sometimes, contacts may be duplicated in the system (for instance, when a user registers with an email address and then at a later stage registers again using their Facebook / Google / Microsoft or LTA credentials).

You can clean up your contacts leaving one contact per user - with "Merge Contacts".

Within the "Admin Area" - click on "Contacts" on the list of options on the left.

Find the two contacts that you wish to merge, and tick the box next to those names.

On the top right, Click on "Merge Contacts" 

A dialogue box will appear listing the contact details for both of the contacts you have selected to merge (Contact One and Contact Two). A third column, shows a preview of the final "Merged Contact" (see below).

At the bottom of the dialogue box you have the option to choose which of the details should be kept from either contact record (showing with a Green Yes / Red No radio dial). Your selections will preview in the "Merged Contact" box to the right of the screen.

By default, the 'registered' login is selected next to "Use login account" to avoid the member having to repeat their registration process. If both contacts are already registered, then you will need to select one here. Other options to choose are "Use email address" and "Use contact details".

When you have made your selections, tick the box on the bottom left to confirm that you would like to merge these contacts. Please note: this action is irreversible. To finish, click on the blue "Merge contacts" button on the bottom right. 

You should then see a confirmation screen.

When you return to your Contacts page, the second contact will no longer be listed and the details that you have selected will be merged into the one contact record.

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Print Friendly and PDF
Powered by Zendesk